Version 3 - HL7 Products

The NEMSIS TAC has worked with the Standards Development Organization Health Level 7 (HL7) to develop transmission standards for the movement of NEMSIS data between entities. Several different Clinical Data Architectures are envisioned to support data movement depending upon the entity wishing to move data.

Explanation of Health Level 7 (HL7):

HL7: Health Level Seven is a standard for exchanging information between medical applications.

  • Click this link to access the current HL7 and ANSI approved CDA for the movement of patient care record data between an EMS provider and a recieving hospital. This Implementation guide is based upon NEMSIS 3.1.
  • Click this link to access the HL7 workgroup notes regarding the development of a consolidated CDA to move patient outcome data (NEMIS V3 eOutcome section) from a hospital to the EMS agency initially treating the patient.


Moving Version 3 through HL7

To review the history of the NEMSIS work within HL7 and to view other supporting HL7 artifacts provided by the NEMSIS TAC, click here.

Information regarding use of CDA structures in the pre-hospital environment may be accessed below:

NEMSIS TAC CDA Training Slides (October 2012)

NEMSIS TAC CDA Training Exercise Solutions (October 2012)