## Member States Agreement to Conform to NHTSA Uniform Prehospital Dataset Version 2.0



Thereas, the National Association of State EMS Directors (NASEMSD) recognizes the need for EMS data collection at the national level; and

Whereas, the NASEMSD has led the development of the National EMS Information System concept through a project to address that need; and

Whereas, that National EMS Information System project has revised the NHTSA Uniform Prehospital Dataset to produce Version 2.0 to assign specific definitions to a set of data elements identified as desirable to be collected on a national level (the "national dataset definitions") to assure uniformity and quality of the data collected nationally; and

Whereas, EMS software and other vendors are relied upon to create state and local EMS information systems which are the future sources of the national data; and

Whereas, these vendors have indicated that significant financial and other advantages may derive to EMS systems on all levels if conformity to a single set of national data definitions can be achieved;

ow, therefore, be it resolved that by roll call vote, and by subsequent polling, the NASEMSD state members indicated below agree to promote and support all EMS data initiatives within their states to conform in the future to the national dataset definitions; and

e it further resolved that the undersigned NASEMSD state members call upon vendors of EMS information system software to utilize the preceding assurance to assist in implementing the National EMS Information System business model.

Signed this 18<sup>th</sup> day of October, 2003:

Alabama Kentucky Alaska Kansas American Samoa Louisiana Arizona Maine Arkansas Maryland California Massachusetts Colorado Michigan Connecticut Minnesota Delaware Mississippi District of Columbia Missouri Florida Montana Nebraska Georgia Guam Nevada Hawaii New Hampshire Idaho New Jersey Illinois New Mexico North Carolina Indiana Iowa North Dakota

Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin

Wyoming

Northern Mariana Islands